Cardiothoracic & Vascular Surgery

Meet our talented medical professionals.

Select Department

img name

Dr. M.K Moosa Kunhi

Sr. Consultant & HOD Cardiac Surgery & Heart Transplantation

Dr. M.K Moosa Kunhi

Sr. Consultant & HOD Cardiac Surgery & Heart Transplantation




Dr. M.K Moosa Kunhi is the pioneer and renowned heart surgeon whose services are highly appreciable and stands tall. He is the first Heart surgeon in India to introduce the advanced technology of bypass operation (Beating Heart surgery), which has changed the face of Cardiac Surgery, making it more economical, safe and affordable to common people. His immense contribution in the field of children heart surgery has helped many children to lead a better life. Dr. Moosa is the only Heart Surgeon from India invited by the Europe’s biggest heart surgery hospital, German Heart Institute, Berlin, Germany as a guest heart surgeon and got the opportunity to work with world renowned heart surgeons like Dr.Volkmar Falk, Dr. Thomas Krobatche, Dr.Potapo to get highly advanced training in heart transplant and artificial heart surgery.

World class expertise in :

  • Bypass heart surgery, conventional as well as beating heart surgery
  • Heart valve replacement and repair
  • High risk, complex surgery
  • Vascular and lung surgery
  • Specialist in children´s heart surgery
  • Specialised in MCS and artificial heart technology
  • Performed over 16,000 heart surgeries with a success rate of 99.6%
  • First to introduce bileaflet heart valve in India (1991), this is meanwhile the most commonly used heart valves worldwide
  • First to introduce the Octopus stabilizer system in a beating heart surgery in India
  • Instrumental in promoting children´s and neonatal heart surgery in India

Other Information


  • Bharat Excellence Award (India), 2011
  • The Red Cross Society Award (India), 2003
  • Mother Teresa Award (India) for Excellent Charitable Work, 2003
  • N.S. Das Puraskaram (India), 2001
  • Lifetime Achievement Award (by FFI, New Delhi, India), 2011
  • Pratibha Award